TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Vios Cup’s Engine-Revving Finale


Toyota Motor Philippines concluded this year’s TOYOTA GAZOO Racing (TGR) Vios Cup with an unforgettable final weekend.

Around 55 racers across the Super Sporting, Sporting, and Promotional classes of Circuit Championship and Autocross Challenge all gathered at the Clark International Speedway last November 19, 2022, yet again for the ultimate finale of this year’s TGR Vios Cup season.

It was a season finale to remember as many of the last leg’s teams ultimately sustained their momentum to win podium finishes for their racing teams. Successfully pushing the pedal to the metal are the second leg’s top finishers, who took home the championship for their respective categories.

Some of the race challenges in the latter part of the racing day witnessed extreme racing conditions as the rain started to pour at the Clark International Speedway. This made every class’ win even more worth all the strategic clutches and drifts throughout the wet speedway.

For Race 9’s Promotional Class Winners, it was Jay Lao of OTR Racing Team who ultimately won the top podium finish, with Ian Rosales of Toyota Team Cebu placing second, and Alain Alzona of Alzona Racing Team taking the third spot.

Sporting Class racer Joaquin Garrido of the Obengers Racing Team championed Race 9, with Michael Keilani Jordan of Jordan Racing Team finishing second, and Jiro Garbes of Toyota San Fernando completing the top 3.

It was quite an eventful weekend for the Obengers Racing Team as Inigo Anton also bagged the top spot for Race 9’s Super Sporting Class, with Red Diwa finishing second, and John Dizon, also from Obengers Racing, finishing in third.

Circuit Championship winners; (L-F) Michael Feilani Jordan of Jordan Racing Team, Ian Rosales of Toyota Team Cebu, Red Diwa of JBT Racing / Toyota Isabela, Alain Alzona of Alzona Racing – Toyota General Santos, Inigo Anton of Toyota North Edsa – Obengers Racing, Joaquin Garrido of Toyota Otis – Obengers Team, John Dizon of Obengers – Funhanmart, and Jiro Garbes of JBT Racing / Toyota San Fernando

Autocross Challenge racers also had their fair share of the wild turns at the tracks, but this did not stop the previous leg’s winners from still finishing in their respective top spots.

For the Media Promotional Class, Pablo Salapantan still finished on top, with Siegwald Go advancing to second place and Riz Javier claiming the third spot. Media Sporting Class also saw Jan Lacuna keeping his podium spot, with Ronald Delos Reyes and Kevin Franciso finishing second, and third respectively.

The influencers also showed what they got when it came to being the star on the race track. Bringing home the Promotional Class top spot was Miguel Romulo, who bested two other strong contenders, Ashley Gosiengifiao, who finished second, and Carla Lizardo, who took third place.

It was a quick rise to the top spot for Enzo Pineda, who championed the Influencer Sporting Class, with Jules Aquino and Aaron Villaflor eventually claiming the second and third spots, respectively.

In the GR GT Cup Class of Autocross Challenge, Russel Reyes was champion whose performance upgraded from being second during the previous leg to now gaining the top spot, became a challenging yet fulfilling feat. Jether Miole finished second, while Mark Elman claimed the third spot.

See the full list of winners below:

Circuit Championship

Promotional Class
Place Name Team  
1 Jay Lao OTR Racing Team  
2 Ian Rosales Toyota Team Cebu  
3 Alain Alzona Alzona Racing Team – Toyota General Santos  


Sporting Class
Place Name Team  
1 Joaquin Garrido Toyota Otis – Obengers Team  
2 Michael Feilani Jordan Racing Team  
3 Jiro Garbes JBT Racing / Toyota San Fernando  


Super Sporting Class
Place Name Team  
1 Inigo Anton Toyota North Edsa – Obengers Team  
2 Red Diwa JBT Racing / Toyota Isabela  
3 John Dizon Obengers Racing – Funhanmart  

Autocross Challenge

Media – Promotional Class
Place Name Publication  
1 Pablo Salapantan Yugatech / YugaAuto  
2 Siegwald Go C! Magazine  
3 Riz Javier Top Gear PH  


Media – Sporting Class
Place Name Team  
1 Jan Lacuna Autoindustriya  
2 Ron de los Reyes Daily Tribune  
3 Kevin Francisco The Modern Creatures  


Influencers – Promotional Class
Place Name  
1 Miggy Romulo  
2 Ashley Gosiengfiao  
3 Carla Lizardo  


Influencers – Sporting Class
Place Name  
1 Enzo Pineda  
2 Jules Aquino  
3 Arron Villaflor  
Place Name  
1 Russel Reyes  
2 Jether Miole  
3 Mark Elman  

Following the last leg of TGR Vios Cup, TMP will soon announce overall season champs this December to officially wrap up the season and award the races who really championed the competition from start to finish.

With the TGR Vios Cup 2022 season coming to a close, there’s a lot more to expect for next season as TMP continues to level up and bring the love for local racing to motorsports enthusiasts nationwide. No pumping of brakes here, with TGR Vios Cup gaining its speed for more turns, drifts, and racing thrills for the next season.

In case you missed it, catch the action again during the final leg of this year’s Vios Cup on the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing PH’s official Facebook and YouTube channel.

The TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Vios Cup 2022 was organized in cooperation with Bridgestone and partner Petron. Other sponsors are Brembo, Denso, AVT, 3M, OMP, Tuason Racing, Kinto One, myToyota Wallet, and ROTA.

Like it? Share with your friends!


What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win
Neil Pagulayan
You can catch him daily on Mellow 94.7's morning show he also contributes on DRIVE, Manila Bulletin's motoring section...


Your email address will not be published.